MP Arif Virani has awarded nineteen local residents as Outstanding Community Change Makers of 2017. The early winter ceremony celebrated each of the awarded recipients. Each received a special Government of Canada, commemorative Canada 150 pin representing the year of their community recognition. The pins are part of a limited edition collection, created from copper, from the roof of the House of Commons in Ottawa.



Spencer Julien: Youth, artist, cultural practitioner, volunteer & social organizer

Hazel Perkins:  Operations Manager at Parkdale Community Food Bank

Madeline McDowell: Activist, artist & historian

Helene Paulyn Murray:  Founder West Toronto Keys to Inclusion

Ibrahim Absiye: Executive Director of Culture Link

Pia Bouman:  Pia Bouman School for Ballet & Creative Movement

Gertie Jacko:  Sagamok Anishnawbek First Nation

Joel Campbell:  Friends of Sorauren Park

Janet Joy Wilson: Co Captain Ward 13 Cycle TO

Josie Candito: Master Mechanic High Park, Animal rights, Women & Children Mentor

Dr. Rita Cox:  Founder Parkdale Intercultural Assoc. Parkdale Read. Parkdale Community Info

Mark Shapiro:  Mental Health & Housing Advocate

Jack Slaughter:  Swansea Town Hall, Community Advocate

Oksana Kuryliw:  Ukrainian Community Artist & Filmmaker

Scout Collins:  Youth Leader, community and environmental advocate

Krista Wylie:  Co founder “Fix our Schools”

Ed Guca: Co – Founder Bloor by the Park BIA

Sonam Lankar:  President Tibetan Canadian Cultural Centre

Maria Carrusca:  Director of the Community Meal Program at Roncesvalles United Church